Marijuana now Legal in Michigan

This is a great article that comes from the Detroit Metro Times that talks about Marijuana now legal in Michigan and the path forward.

However, please know that even though Marijuana is now legal in Michigan, you can still get caught up in a legal quagmire. If you or someone you know has gotten themselves involved in a legal predicament regarding drugs, you need an experienced Michigan Drug Criminal Defense Lawyer with the knowledge to help you navigate the Michigan court system for the best possible outcome regarding your situation.

https://www.metrotimes.com/detroit/so-pots-legal-in-michigan-what-now/Content?oid=17693372

 

Michigan Drugged Driving Penalties

Michigan Drugged Driving Penalties can be pretty severe. If you are a lawful Michigan medical marijuana card holder, you still may not operate a motor vehicle if the marijuana has substantially lessened your ability to operate any motor vehicle. Therefore, you could still be charged with OWI drugs the fines and penalties are similar to getting an OWI alcohol. If you’ve been arrested and charged with Michigan Drugged Driving you need to contact a Michigan DUI Defense Lawyer.

To learn more about the Michigan Drugged Driving Penalties, click the link below.

http://norml.org/legal/item/michigan-drugged-driving

Criminal Penalties for Michigan Home Invasion

Home invasion is a serious criminal charge in Michigan, and any degree of home invasion could result in a felony conviction. A person commits a home invasion crime when, without authority, he or she knowingly enters a home of another, when he or she knows or has reason to know that the home is occupied, and intentionally causes a crime within the dwelling.

Criminal penalties for Michigan home invasion are quite severe:

  • First degree home invasion(felony): Imprisonment for up to 20 years and possible fines up to $5,000.
  • Second degree home invasion(felony): Imprisonment for up to 15 years and possible fines of up to $3,000.
  • Third degree home invasion(felony): Imprisonment for up to 5 years and possible fines of up to $2,000.

You can also learn more about the Michigan definition and home invasion and the associated penalties from the Michigan Legislature – Section 750.110a

Anyone arrested and charged with breaking and entering a home will most likely face serious criminal penalties and should seek the guidance of a Michigan criminal defense lawyer immediately.

2018 MICHIGAN OPIOID LAWS

New 2018 Michigan Opioid Laws will limit greatly the number of opioids that doctors are allowed to prescribe patients suffering from acute pain. You can learn more about the changes to the Michigan Opioid Laws via the PDF below which was produced by Michigan License and Regulatory Affairs and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.

If you or any you know that has been arrested for Doctor shopping (soliciting multiple doctors) — refers to an individual visiting multiple physicians to attain prescriptions for controlled substances, such as opioids, steroids or stimulants under false pretenses in order to abuse, sell or distribute unlawfully. They will need a strong knowledgeable Michigan Drug Defense Attorney to defend them of being accused of Doctor shopping.

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LARA_DHHS_Opioid_Laws_FAQ_05-02-2018_622175_7.pdf

Carrying a firearm Under the Influence in Michigan

Carrying a firearm Under the Influence in Michigan is a serious offense. Below is a link to the Michigan State Police website that explains what the BAC thresholds are consequences. If you or someone you know, has been arrested for carrying a firearm Under the Influence in Michigan, you need to contact a good reputable Michigan Firearm Defense Attorney to help you defend your charges appropriately.

https://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-1878_1591_3503_4654-10961–,00.html

Arrested for Disorderly Conduct in Michigan

Arrested for disorderly conduct in Michigan, Arrested for disorderly conduct in Macomb, Macomb Criminal Defense Lawyer, Micheal L Stienberg

Being arrested for Disorderly Conduct in Michigan (MCL 750.167) if convicted is a Misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in county jail and/or probation + a hefty fine and court costs.

  • The city of Royal Oak, Michigan defines Disorderly Conduct in 278.35
  • The city of Mt. Clemens, Michigan defines Disorderly Conduct in 20.001 – Sec 1

Also under Michigan law, there is also a Disorderly Persons offense (MCL 750.168) which is a catch-all for several offenses in Michigan.

Being convicted of Disorderly Conductor Disorderly Persons will result in a criminal record. If you had a prior charge for being “disorderly” and as a result, the prosecutor, judge, and probation officer view it as “contact” with the criminal justice system.  Any contact(s) with the courts and/or the cops are not good. They suggest that the person has a propensity for getting in trouble, and if they didn’t learn the first time, then they obviously need a more severe consequence.

Depending on your circumstances it may be possible to get these charges completely dropped, preserving you from getting a permanent criminal record. Because these offenses are so common, and subjectively applied, it is VERY IMPORTANT to have a skilled and knowledgeable Michigan disorderly conduct defense attorney to represent you.

Resisting Arrest in Michigan

Resisting Arrest in Michigan, Michael L Steinberg Michigan Assault Defense Lawyer

Been charged with Resisting Arrest in Michigan for the very first time, this doesn’t make you a criminal or a bad person. It’s quite common that a good person will get themselves unfortunately into a bad situation, which results in them being charged with Resisting Arrest in Michigan.

According to Michigan Legislature Section 750.81d, assaulting, battering, resisting, obstructing, or opposing a person performing their legal duty is a felony criminal offense, which can result in both jail time and significant fines. The definition of “a person” as used in this statute includes state or local police, campus police, conservation officers, sheriffs, constables, peace officers, firefighters, emergency medical personnel, or search and rescue teams.

Any resistance or opposition could result in criminal charges, and this legislation is by no means limited to physical assault on an officer. If you have been charged with resisting arrest, you need to contact a Macomb Criminal Defense Attorney now to discuss your case and work through the best legal actions you can take. Mr. Steinberg is always available 24/7 for clients, and can immediately begin working to protect your rights.

Michigan Domestic Violence Law

Michigan Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer Michael L Steinberg

Being charged with Domestic Violence in Michigan can have very serious consequences.

Michigan Domestic Violence Law has two classifications:

  1. Domestic Violence as defined in section MCL 750-81
  2. Aggravated Domestic Violence as defined in section MCL 750-81a

A first offense for a Michigan domestic violence charge is typically a misdemeanor, however, it could land you up to 93 days in jail!  With the representation of a knowledgeable domestic violence attorney, in many cases, probation will be given, coupled with fines, costs, classes, and refraining from any alcohol or drug use.

A second offense domestic violence is also a misdemeanor in Michigan, however, it carries the possibility of up to one year in jail, fines, and additional significant costs. Probation may be given, coupled with fines, additionally classes, and refraining from any alcohol or drug use.

If you have two previous convictions for domestic violence, you may be charged with felony domestic violence.  A conviction for this felony charge could lead to up to 2 years in prison with fines and costs up to $2,500.00.

Michigan Aggravated Domestic Violence is different than Domestic Violence because there is a serious injury that results from it. An aggravated domestic violence has all the same things of a domestic violence except for that the person got seriously injured by the assault.

A Michigan aggravated domestic violence charge can bring up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 or more, and two years of possible probation.

Having an assaultive crime on your record, even though it is a misdemeanor, can cause future or present employers to either terminate your employment or not hire you. Additionally, these charges can also cause collateral consequences for international travel and immigration.

If you are accused of committing domestic violence or aggravated domestic violence in Michigan, you need to contact a Michigan Domestic Violence Attorney immediately. An experienced and seasoned Michigan defense lawyer will fight for you.